#166: How Good Are Your Passwords?

We all know that having good passwords are important right? But what makes a password good? If you’re like me you probably have never stopped to give it much thought. Let me use this opportunity to ask you to take a few minutes now to do just that. Yes, really right now. And no, I’m not getting a commission from the security people. (Although, I do accept cash or money orders.)

The only reason I even mention it is because one morning this week I logged into my email account to see about a dozen messages informing me that one of my accounts had been hacked and use to send….um…er….adult related SPAM. Not good! Fortunately, I was able to reset my password and regain control of the account. At least as far as I can tell so far.

After furiously sending a bunch of messages apologizing to the people who received those messages, I spent a fair amount of time changing every password I could think of. Network passwords, email passwords, LOTS of passwords to websites, etc.

Does that sound like fun to you? Trust me it’s not a good feeling.  So I hope you’ll learn from my experience and at least take a few moments to give this some thought. Here are some good sites to help you with that thinking.

Password Strength Checker:

If you think you’re much smarter than me and already have strong passwords, at least go and check them out to make sure.

Password Strength Checker

How did you do? If you passed, good for you. If not, go to this Microsoft site to find out how to make your passwords better.

Strong Passwords | Microsoft Security

Benefit from my misfortunes

I hope you’ve at least give this some thought. If not, you can’t say that you haven’t been warned. How do you handle your passwords?  Click here to send me a note and let me know.

2 thoughts on “#166: How Good Are Your Passwords?

Leave a Reply

